What’s the best part about being an artist?

Garden_visitor_sold_rachel_murphree_watercolorsI love to paint in watercolor, I’m content to frame my own work and enter shows and now have my work in the Sunland Art Gallery, but one of the very best parts is interacting with the people that purchase my art.  I’ve heard that art is a conversation between the artist and the viewer, and this takes it to the next level.

Yesterday I got a chance to do just that with this lovely lady who purchased Garden Visitor.  She graciously posed in front of the gallery with her new painting and was excited to go and test it out in its new home.

Sometimes it takes awhile to put into words what we are looking for.   We pulled out prints and originals from several different artists in the gallery and auditioned them and talked about how they would fit in the space. As we worked I thought I had a better idea what she was looking for. On a whim I showed her this piece, not sure it would work, but it fit the requirements of vertical orientation and outdoor scene and the right size,  and it spoke to her.  The decision was that quick. What a fun experience!

Having this happen on top of selling Red Hot and Yucca Bloom at the Woman’s Club of El Paso show a week ago, is beyond what I ever thought!  If I believed in lucky numbers, three would be it.   There again I got such a thrill meeting the new owners, hearing where they would put the paintings or who they were giving the painting to and why.

I have these three paintings in cards and will get them in matted prints soon to sell at the gallery and online.  Summer is a busy time because my schedule isn’t my own with busy teenagers, but it’s in the plans…  stay tuned.  Having my work available steadily at the Sunland Art Gallery takes a bit of that pressure off of me.

When I buy art or prints, I just love to meet the artist and if i have a connection with them it makes me enjoy my purchase so much more.  Have you had any experiences like that?  either as an artist or as a buyer?  As an artist what is your favorite part of the process?  I’d love to hear about it!

23 thoughts on “What’s the best part about being an artist?

  1. Congratulations on your sale! she looks very happy to have your painting 🙂 My favorite part of the process is the making of art, getting in that creative space is a drug to me. Being in my studio, planning or looking at paintings I have done in the past and trying to marry it up with the right matting has been a joy of late. Since I have been working in watercolors, framing my own work is now possible. With pastels it is more complicated and I might try that at some point. Do you have any pointers on supplies or? Sounds like you being in the gallery is working out really well, I hope you sell more!

    Like

    • I can really relate about enjoying the process of art. Sometimes when i’m planning a piece, the sketch or color values, and I have time alloted to just have fun, I can’t believe how lucky I am to be able to do this. Do you cut your own mats? I’m seriously considering getting a mat cutter to make it cheaper and have much more options of colors to choose. With pastels, not having worked with them, isn’t it just sealing it with a spray varnish and then framing without glass? I thought it was easier than the glass/mat/backing etc of watercolor. What supplies are you talking about, wanting pointers on? Glad to help if I can.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Pastels are fragile and definitely needs framing. I don’t even use fixative because of what I have used, it dulls the colors, plus I am out of the habit of using it anyway. My framer is getting up there in years and I am thinking of asking him to give me lessons and even buying his mat cutting system. I will have to give it some thought of how to approach him on this. 🙂 So, to answer your question, no I haven’t cut my own as of yet. As to pointers I was wondering if you buy your frames and supplies new or? I thought you mentioned that you frame your own, I was wondering if there was a special framing co. that you buy from. I am trying to get all the info that I can get.

        Like

      • Hi Margaaret, I definitely suggest getting lessons from a framer. That’s what I did. I’m looking at buying the logan 750 because it has a cutter for plexiglass, for glass, beveled and regular and the squaring device to make all that so much easier. as of now I often buy frames when on sale at Michael’s but I have my own that I reuse or if there’s one at an estate sale in very good condition I will get that. however, the preused are often not standard sizes, so a mat cutter would be fabulous. plus I can get a lot of variety and choice in colors. so right now, I tend to tape my paper in standard sizes before I start painting but I feel constrained by that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • it’s always good to learn a new skill. you could decide you don’t like doing it, or it’s not worth sacrificing studio time to do it, but at least you’ll have the experience to decide. When I had to have a dozen pieces ready for a show last August, I got into a rhythm and it was gratifying to be able to frame my own. but it may not be for everyone!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

