Christmas continues

paradise-for-jean_rachel_murphree_watercolors

Here’s a painting I gave to my wonderful mother-in-law for Christmas.  As you may know, I’m fascinated with the Red Bird of Paradise that grows here, Caesalpinia mexicana, not to be confused with the other Bird of Paradise hat grows in more tropical conditions and that actually looks like a bird’s beak. (Strelitzia reginae  Forgive the wonky picture.  I took it before I started framing it.

I’m gearing up for the 30 in 30 painting challenge which I start tomorrow.  I’ve been painting daily this week, to get back into the swing, and am excited about doing it again this January.  If you’d like to see earlier examples of what I’ve produced in these challenges, click the 30 in 30 link at the top of the page.  I’ve grown a lot through these challenges because it jump starts my studio practice and keeps me more accountable.  I plan on making the blog posts shorter perhaps to make that part of the process quicker to do, to spend more time painting and sketching!

Thanks for stopping by .

 

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas continues

Leave a Reply

