4–>40 Tree Studies

plein_air_tree_rachel_murphree

plein air set up painting the tree on the left

Today’s study subject is trees.  I’ll start out with an American elm tree that’s a volunteer in my yard and some call a “Trash” tree.  Well I’ll take that because it’s fast growing and will provide privacy especially if the pines on my neighbor’s side get hit with a bug or a freeze.  Besides, you can’t beat the cost! Speaking of trees that have a similar maligned reputation, please check out Leslie’s lovely painting of a cottonwood tree changing its foliage.  It’s stunning.

 

This picture was taken several days ago.  You can see the collapsible water bottle hanging from an S hook on the front of the en plein air easel and I have my small sketch pad with value sketch propped up behind the other water cup. The paper towel roll is precariously hanging on the crank handle for the tripod.  It’s a partial plan!  we’ll see how it works.  Perhaps the best thing “in the field” would be wearing a half height apron with big pockets.

elm_tree_first_wash

First wash of the elm

I worked on it again today putting in darker sides on the shaded side and adding foliage here and there over the already dried lighter foliage.  I really studied the foliage structure of the tree and how the branches went up away from the trunk.

elm_tree_plein_air_rachel_murphree

American Elm plein air study

There are a variety of techniques with this including wetting a clump of foliage first and then putting in thicker valued pigment to create softer edges.  I also did the branches leaving big gaps that I later filled in with a foliage clump.  Some other times I spritzed lightly to get a softer effect and went in with darker thicker pigment.  I got carried away and it’s wider than what a sapling trunk would probably support, but oh well.  It was fun to try.

plein_air_pine_study_midtrunk_rachel_murphree

mid trunk plein air study of pine

After that I worked on another study of the pine tree, but just the mid trunk area.  I have a brush called a dagger striper  that I haven’t practiced much with, and it worked quite well to make the long needles that are characteristic of this pine.  Before I figured that I could use that brush, i pulled down some color along the bottom edge of the bottom clump (as an example) and after using the dagger, I am happier with the thinner marks that you see at the top of that clump, under the branches.  Another technique to add in would be using a damp skinny flat to lift out branches that would appear to be catching the light.

I will do another more serious study of it working on the color mingling and then only putting a touch of the needles in here and there.  It will have a more professional and fresh look.  Better to suggest than to hit the viewer over the head…but I got caught up in playing!

Again, as always, thanks for stopping by and leaving comments.  They are really appreciated.

15 thoughts on “4–>40 Tree Studies

  1. Hey Rachel thanks for sharing your tree study and explaining the art material it’s really helpful. American elm turned out really nice and yes Leslie’s work is awesome👍🏼

    Like

  2. These are both beautiful tree studies, Rachel. Thank you for linking to my post.
    I’m going to look up that dagger striper. I currently use a rigger to define tiny branches. I wonder if it is like that. Admire your work and set up for plein air work!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Another tree sketch and wash | Rachel Murphree Watercolors

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.