New beginnings

daisy in yellows and greens

demo for early teaching watercolor lessons

I’ve been out of the blogging routine with a lot of new beginnings going on in real life, including expanding the flower garden, my husband putting in a new patio and an above ground hot tub, kids getting out of school and doing camps, my one daughter getting glasses, the list goes on and on!  It’s been hard to find the time to paint consistently with the summer “non”-schedule, but I’ve geared up for a new beginning with the first of July.  I’m going to be participating in World Watercolor Month begun last year by Charlie Shields at Doodlewash, so it’s 31 paintings in 31 days of July for me to share.  Starting today.  Whew!

I’ve also started teaching my first student!  a 12 yr old going into 7th grade.  We meet weekly for the summer, and it’s a good way to get back to basics and to reinforce skills (for me!) and for her.  They say that we learn from teaching, and from our students, and I’ve found that to be true and I’ve been really enjoying the classes!

Here’s my demo from the first lessons. My student loves what she calls the “tie dye” effect of watercolor, when wet pigments merge with other wet pigments.  She was so cute the other day when she had several really great wet in wet blends of pigment on three petals of the flower, the rest was white paper, and she said, “let’s stop now and frame it!”

I could relate to that sentiment because I fall in love with some parts as they happen, but then other parts don’t turn out to my satisfaction, and it can get discouraging. She’s found that out already, although she’s catching on quickly.  I reminded her and myself that we are “painting for the bin”.  It’s all practice and experiences, including new beginnings,  that help us grow.

If you are a painting teacher, do you have any words of wisdom or nuggets to share with me?  I’d love to hear them.  I hope you come along with me on this month’s journey into the World of Watercolor.

 

6 thoughts on “New beginnings

  1. Rachel,
    Sounds like having a student will be lots of fun and very reinforcing for you to stay at the top of your game. Enjoy!

    Like

  2. I don’t think the ‘lets stop now’ is only related to the watercolor world… I think there is plenty of that in every single creative endeavor… and that is why there are so many UFO’s/PHD’s/PIG’s…. we don’t want to ruin them with a misstep. On the other hand…. leaving a little to the imagination is also a good way to end…

    Like

Leave a Reply

