Gearing up for January’s 30 paintings in 30 days challenge

century_laterstage_rachel_murphree_watercolor_30in30-day-7-9

Century Plant 1/2 sheet. Worked on during September’s 30 in 30

Hi all — In the middle of holiday preparations, I’ve also been thinking about next month and getting organized for the new year.  In twelve days, gulp!, I will be participating again in the 30 in 30 challenge run by Leslie Saeta.  If you’d like to paint along with me, click on the link below and get excited about the process!

https://www.saetastudio.com/30-in-30.html

I will let Leslie explain the challenge, text taken from her page:

I am so glad you are joining the Thirty Paintings in Thirty Days Challenge.
This is the eighth Thirty Painting in Thirty Days Challenge I have hosted. In September of 2016 over 1000 artists participated in the challenge. Our next challenge starts on January 1, 2017! Our goal is to paint 30 paintings in 30 days. We will have fun and the goal is to complete 30 new paintings during the month. But please remember it’s ok to miss a few. Nobody will know but you. In fact nobody will care but you! Life gets in the way sometimes and if that happens, don’t sweat it. The only “rule” is to have fun! That’s it!

So why should you join this challenge? The challenge is not about finishing 30 gallery quality “perfect” paintings. It’s about getting in to the studio to try new things. It’s about painting more often. It’s about having fun and developing new habits! This challenge has changed the lives of many artists and I hope you you will experience the same! It’s important to remember you are not doing this challenge alone. We had over 1500 artists (in 38 countries) commit to painting every day in January. Who knows how many we will have in September? So let’s share and support each other.

lantana stage 5_rachel_murphree_watercolor

End of Summer.  Prints and cards available in my online store. 

This will be my fifth time doing the challenge, you can see previous times here, and how my skills have improved.  I have yet to complete 30 paintings, but that’s ok.  It has always jump started my studio practice and has led to successful pieces that I’ve entered in shows or sold!  I’ve also presented a demonstration on it to the Southern Chapter of the New Mexico Watercolor Society.

So, are you in?  Would you like to paint along with me?  Please stop in during January because I will be blogging my way through the challenge!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Gearing up for January’s 30 paintings in 30 days challenge

  1. Rachel, since I’ve been following the Leslie Saeta podcast, I thought I would give the 30 in 30 a whirl in January. So far, besides you and me, Antonio Darden in Santa Fe, is the only other NMWS list on the map that signed up. Hopefully, we’ll have a few more join us. I hope to make it through the process, as I really need to increase my productivity.

    Like

    • I am glad you are going to try it Barbara. I sent a blurb on to brushstrokes editor so she may be able to put it into this months newsletter, and I am putting it into SC reminders as well. I have found even if I “don’t make it through”, my productivity does increase!

      Like

Leave a Reply

