Chile Trio again demo

The other weekend I did a second informal demo during the opening of the Sunland Art Gallery’s el Paso Scenes show and it went more smoothly for me.  I am consistently using my easel these days to get more comfortable with it.  I also did an underpainting first (see below) to not have the “fear of white page” syndrome!

chiletrio2-demo_rachel_murphree_watercolor-2

I’m realizing several things about demos.

First, it’s not a race and I don’t have to “finish” the painting.  So if I’m not at a critical point with washes, I can stop and answer questions without painting.  This may seem obvious but I realized it was one of the thoughts that was stressing me.

Second, you do learn more by teaching or demonstrating, so it’s worth doing and getting better at.  And you don’t have to do it perfectly; you just have to be able to explain why you are doing X and if it worked or not, and why /why not.

chiletrio2-demo_rachel_murphree_watercolor-1

Speaking of not perfect, right off the bat i had a runaway wash that dripped down the paper and was staining.  So after that, nothing else could go wrong!  Big smile.  I don’t have the glow of the first painting in this one, and I don’t think I’ll finish it, but I’m happy for what is:  a demo.

The third thing i realized is the continuation of “it’s only paper”  is….it’s only a demo!

tres_chiles_framed_rachel_murphree_watercolors

So here’s the finished framed piece which is now hanging at the Sunland Art Gallery but I have prints, cards, and ornaments of it for sale there and at the show this weekend at Queen of Peace church.   (and also at my online store)

I have blogged about the process for the framed piece here. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

