Ardovino’s take two

Ardovino's water tower #2

Ardovino’s water tower #2

I went out to Ardovino’s Desert Crossing on Monday morning to paint again, this time with a value sketch. Usually a value sketch makes the painting better for me, in my rather limited experience. I’m not sure if that was true this week.

I was joined by a painting “buddy”…  the dogs were let out and were busy tracking scents and saying hello to others.  All of a sudden I felt a little pressure on my shoe.  I looked down to find a dirty chewed wine cork on top of my shoe, and the sweetest little black/brown dog panting and looking at me…hey lady, do you want to play?

ardovinos 2 photo ref (1)

Ardovino’s on site.

That’s all it took…I spent the next forty five minutes painting and throwing that wine cork all over creation for him to chase and bring back.  When I would ignore him, intent on a particular stroke, all of a sudden I’d feel the cork near my foot and the game would begin again!

Here’s a view of the painting on site.  Such a lovely place!

There are parts of the second painting that I like, and parts that I think are better in the first one.  over all,  I think I like view one better, below, which I’m calling Sunday Morning.  What do you think?  I’d love to hear your views.

Sunday morning at Ardovino's

Sunday morning at Ardovino’s

 

10 thoughts on “Ardovino’s take two

  1. I like Sunday Morning the best as well, it has depth and a freshness that the other one lacks. I agree, better than photographs 🙂 the experience at the end of your brush I would say. Isn’t plein air great? I loved reading about the dogs. While painting I may not have domestic animals come up and greet me but I have viewed wildlife while painting, nothing like it. Sounds like you had a wonderful day painting!

    Like

    • Margaret, both days were fabulous! I am envious of your beautiful areas to hike. I hope you don’t have wild animals come as close to you as that little dog did to me! We have great hiking here in the desert southwest but I miss the greenery of deep forests!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t had a bear yet come by I wouldn’t mind, I am a bear lover. I have so far seen fox, deer, river otter and birds, tons of birds. My favorite was having a Blue Heron fly right down the river! Mountain lions stay away! maybe at a safe distance would be fine. lol I love the deserts of the southwest, a beauty all its own. I bet going out for a sunrise painting would be beautiful! have you done that yet?

        Like

      • I tried one time last year but by the time I got up there (one hour away) at 7 am it was too late! ugh….I didn’t plan it out right. I need to get out there even earlier to get set-up. I will be doing that but somewhere closer to home within 20 minutes or so that way I won’t have to get up by 4:30 or 5 am. I have a fascination with sunrise and sunset paintings and I am always battling the clock. This year is the year that I am going to take that challenge on and get some of those paintings!

        Like

      • Good for you! I’m not sure I’m up for that time challenge yet, and for me, since we live on the westside of the mountain range that bisects our city, it would be a 1/2 hour drive to get a real sunrise view.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

