Day 17 of 30 in 30 — Star Shell

Star (?) Shell.  5" x 7" watercolor

Star (?) Shell. 5″ x 7″ watercolor

Today’s offering is this shell painting, about 5″ x 7″ of what I have roughly identified as star shell, but I am absolutely no expert on shells.  So if you can tell me the proper name, please do so.  It’s painted with venetian red and ultramarine blue only.

It’s already Day 17 of this 30 day challenge!  I can’t believe it.  And I’m really proud of myself that I’ve produced a painting every day.  A friend asked me recently if it’s inspiring, or really hard, or discouraging, as it goes by, and I’d have to say YES!  it’s all of the above!!  but at the end of the day I can look back on a collection of paintings that would absolutely not be in existence if it weren’t for the public pressure of committing to the challenge and posting the results daily.

Artist Leslie Saeta runs this 30 paintings in 30 days challenge in January and September and I participated about 1/2 of the days in January, so my skills and tenacity are improving… I’m looking forward to a more leisurely pace of working on a larger piece over several days, and yes, I could do that now, but with the start of school and family obligations, I haven’t found the time yet.  But things are looking up!

Thanks for stopping by to read and if you’d like to leave me a comment, I’d love to hear from you.

One thought on “Day 17 of 30 in 30 — Star Shell

  1. I did my own challenge as you know in July and it is really tough, but your skills are really blooming and the daily practice is … nothing beats a daily practice in anything, in my view. I started drawing daily in my art journal at night while watching TV in May and my drawing has definitely improved, and I can draw faster and get decent results! I thought about painting every day just … every day, but WC is a difficult master and there were times I wanted to throw my brush……maybe if I went after it again, I’d be “over that”, but nights when the painting bombed were just crap nights for me! On the other hand, good painting days made the day really shine with hope so….gotta take the good with the bad. Enjoying your paintings always Rachel. 💛

    Like

Leave a Reply

