Day 8 of 30 in 30 — Hawk on a Wire

Painting of hawk perched on a metal wire

study for a painting of a red tailed hawk on a windmill in the west texas desert.

I painted this hawk yesterday from a photograph I took when my teenagers were not even in kindergarten yet! I knew someday that I would want to paint it, and I guess the time is now!!

it’s a great photograph that brings back the whole day we spent exploring a wetland bird refuge area in west Texas, complete with cows grazing, herons in the water and hawks in the air!

sketchbook rendition of hawk

sketchbook rendition of hawk which I traced onto wc paper using my light box.

It’s a red tailed hawk and I really enjoyed mingling the browns and blues to get the feathers and tones of his body.  I’m in love with quinacridone burnt orange and indanthrone or ultramarine.  I could wax on and on…  but I will demur.

He is perched on a piece of rebar (or what I think is rebar) and the curved wire in front of his body is part of the windmill system, so in the finished photo it will make more sense than it does here.

I’ve started sketching out the windmill piece with him in it, working on composition, and can’t wait to get started on it, now that I have a better understanding of drawing/painting the hawk.

Thanks for stopping by and letting me know what you think of my feathered friend…

2 thoughts on “Day 8 of 30 in 30 — Hawk on a Wire

  1. I especially like the face – so stoic – and how you framed the bird. Wonderfully done. So nice to have the photograph and be able to go back to it, with the desire to paint it now fulfilled. Satisfying, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

