Day 5 of 30 in 30 — Clouds Gathering

Large expanse of clouds gathering over the mountain.

30 in 30 day 5. Clouds Gathering.  $25. 5″ x 7″

I was focusing on the clouds again in this piece and when they were at a point I liked, I added the mountain with minglings of cobalt blue and quin burnt orange.  Then I scraped away ridges and texturing with the end of chiseled paint brush.

I worked on this one while gallery sitting today down at the In the Mix show. There are two weeks left of it, and business was steady for a lot of the time.  Made some sales of prints and cards which was nice, but I especially enjoyed talking to the people who made it down to see the show!

The technique of cloud building is just like other ways of showing roundness:  soft edges, dark lines blending away, light on one side.  Similar to what I used to make the rose painting earlier this week.

I had done two wet in wet skies, this one with clouds, and the other with a smooth blending of blues/roses/yellows near horizon.  That became something TOTALLY different!  come back tomorrow to see it…thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “Day 5 of 30 in 30 — Clouds Gathering

  1. watercolor, just like every other form of painting eludes me, but glad you are having such great fun and success with it!

    Like

  2. Beautiful, Rachel. I wish you did youtubes of these paintings so we could see how you do it! I never knew it, but people with youtube followings who put up lots of videos get a cut of the ad revenue! Pretty cool. Lol, trying to tempt you. :))

    Like

    • Laura, thanks. I don’t see that in my immediate future, but I know you tube videos also help people find artists and their work, so it is tempting. There are a lot of other business type things around art that I have to do first, and painting is always the priority!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

