Help me name this painting…

Watercolor of rocks and flowers by Rachel Murphree

11″ x 15″ watercolor of mexican poppies, prickly pear and rocks. Click on image to view larger.

So, as promised, here’s the finished painting from the photo I shared in the last post. I took artistic liberty with some of the rocks to make it a better composition.

This was definitely a painting that was giving me fits as it progressed.  It had its long moments of “adolesence” when all seemed to be a bit off, but it came together in the end.  When I paint this again, I will know better how to do it from the start, and not have to lift out so much color and repaint.  That makes it seem overworked to me, and not the spontaneous look I’d prefer.

But I think the discipline of continuing on when it got difficult, realizing problems and fixing them, is worthwhile, both in painting and in real life — don’t you think?

As of now, the working title is Poppies’ Rocks but I’m thinking there has to be a better title. What do you think? I’d love to hear your suggestions for a name for it.

Thanks for stopping by and letting me know your thoughts…

13 thoughts on “Help me name this painting…

  1. LOVE the painting! Really gorgeous. May be my favorite of yours! Possible titles: “Sun (or sunshine) on the Rocks”, “Light (or Sunshine) and Shadow”….I’ll keep thinking on it. Congratulations, Rachel, it’s beautiful!

    Like

  2. I suck at titles, but it’s lovely and doesn’t look overworked to me! Structured, perhaps, which is a good thing when you’ve got such distinct elements like flowers and rocks next to each other, but definitely not overworked.

    Like

  3. I love this painting too Rachel…. and I don’t think it looks overworked at all. Wish I could help you with a title, but I struggle with that myself! Good luck though… something will come to you when you least expect it. ~Rita

    Like

  4. Pingback: Why do I appreciate and paint plein air? | Sam Tayag's ART & ADVENTURES

Leave a Reply

