A Moment in Time

"A Moment in Time"  watercolor painting of driftwood and leaf by Rachel Murphree

Watercolor painting 11″ x 14″. Click on image to view larger

This is a painting I have attempted several times since I took the picture seven years ago. Our family was with another family playing on a sandy beach of the Rio Grande up in Rio Rancho, NM. I captured a lot of photographs that day including many nature shots. I’m calling it “A Moment in Time”. The driftwood piece is done in walnut ink and watercolor, the rest is watercolor. I appreciate all the suggestions from friends and teachers to get this to where it is. I have a feeling I will paint it again and again!

The title felt “right” for this painting, but as I decided it, I realized every painting capturies a moment in time, and I’m doing my best to translate the experience in paint and paper.

Please feel free to share this post, or leave a comment.  I’d love to hear from you! Thanks for stopping by.

4 thoughts on “A Moment in Time

  1. Very nice! I like the idea of painting a painting over and over again. I have done that with some subjects that have really intrigued me and I find that I really learn more and more about the essence of a subject the more I paint it. Lovely work. ~Rita

    Like

Leave a Reply

