Storm clouds approaching

Storm Clouds Coming.   Watercolor by Rachel Murphree

Storm Clouds Coming. 8″ x 10″ Watercolor Click on image to view larger. Available.

Can you feel the storm rolling in?

This was final painting in a watercolor class offered by Oween Rath through the OLLI program at UTEP. I enjoyed the class. It gave me a refresher course on the basics which never hurts, and I learned some new skills as well. One thing in particular that I appreciated is that we painted from quite rough minimal sketches which really worked well for me. I didn’t feel the pressure of a photograph and all its details imposed on me. We worked from a skeletal framework to create what we in our own minds. I found it an effective teaching technique.

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave me a message or share the post.

2 thoughts on “Storm clouds approaching

  1. Hey Laura, that’s really nice to hear! Thank you.

    I mixed the purple, I’m guessing on the blues but the red is Quinacridone magenta by winsor newton. the blue is either ultramarine or cobalt, or both scattered in various places.

    Like

Leave a Reply

