New Mexico Wines

"New Mexico Wine" Watercolor  by Rachel Murphree

“New Mexico Wine” Watercolor. 10″ x 14″. Click on image to view larger.

I am calling this finished, after working on it today at group.  I never would have thought I could paint glass and reflections, but it’s really great what a slew of classes and consistent practice will do.  This was from a class taught by Penny Simpson, and I’m so glad that I was able to take it because it pushed me to try something new and difficult, even though I was half frozen with fright after getting down the black background, and looking at attacking the glass.

My favorite part is the cork for some reason…

Thanks for checking in with me.  Glad to have you visit!

Oh yes, and the artist that said paintings have an adolescent stage is Jan Hart.  Her work is wonderful if you haven’t seen it…

8 thoughts on “New Mexico Wines

    • Thanks so much Rita!! I’m pleased with it for sure. The black is actually acrylic paint done first, and then the watercolor for the focal object. Wouldn’t work in a strictly watercolor environment, but that’s the technique we were learning. I’d love to do it all in watercolor but it is effective.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Truly love this. The reflections in the bottles make me think I can almost see the rest of the room. Shadows, colors, the shape of the thick bottle bottoms. Wonderful work. You have made miles of progress this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

