Aspens in progress

watercolor in progress

Aspens mountain scene, in progress. Trees made with credit card as a painting tool. 9″ x 11″

Here’s the second painting from Thursday’s class, an aspen mountain scene in progress.  The trunks were made using a credit card tapped into a puddle of not too runny pigment on dry paper.

I’m going to put the sky in next and I want to make sure I”m in keeping with the lighter grayed values of the existing mountains and ranges.  It’s certainly not a bright sunny day, it’s a before sunset kind of wintery day from the color palette already there.  maybe grays and purples?  we’ll see…

I need to add more smaller branches on the tops of the trees, but I’m liking it so far.  If you don’t see it in the finished form, it’s because the sky didn’t match my thoughts<g> and instead I will probably try the painting again.  so fingers crossed!

Watercolorist and teacher Susie Short (who also runs a FB group called Watercolor Workshop) has a great web tutorial on this process.  I’m in the group and it’s really helpful for inspiration, monthly challenges, etc.

I’m excited that this week I will start a six week watercolor class and drawing class at UTEP in addition to the weekly painting group already in progress.

3 thoughts on “Aspens in progress

  1. I love this painting. I thought you would have blocked out the trees are with masking fluid, and painted the sky first?? Or is that acrylic ?. What do I know hope you enjoy your class, I can’t wait to see what you do

    Like

    • oh thanks! Masking and doing sky first is one of the techniques you can use in watercolor but doing it this way I can paint around them, continuing a cloud or two perhaps behind several of the trunks. I can’t wait to see what the other classes are like this week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

