Ornament #1 or Ornament #2?

Loose version of red ornament hanging on the Christmas tree.  Watercolor

Loose version of red ornament hanging on the Christmas tree. Watercolor

2-141223_red ornamentB

“Tighter” version of red ornament on the Christmas tree

Which is your preference?  I think I’m going for Ornament #1 but I’m curious to hear your opinions.  I think the sharper edges highlights of the surrounding lights on the ball in #2 show the glass texture better…but I like how the colors blend and flow in #1.  Of course, neither is exactly what I had in mind when I started, but that seems to be the magic of watercolor and the process of learning the technique.

it’s a bit daunting to put out my art like this but I think documenting my progress and sharing the journey with you all is a good thing, and keeps me painting.

4 thoughts on “Ornament #1 or Ornament #2?

  1. I waffle back and forth – plainly I like them both! The looser one appeals to me because I’d like to learn to be looser, too, and the glow from the lights seems to make it more dreamlike. Of course, the gold hardware on the other is quite impressive.
    Diane

    Like

Leave a Reply

