Oh I’d love to go to the beach….

Shell study in watercolor

watercolor 8″ x 11″ 140 lb Arches

I was in the process of setting up a still life of shells to sketch and then carefully transfer marks to the watercolor paper to do a full painting.  But I didn’t want to take the extra steps, so this was playing around sketching with the brush and pigment straight to the paper.  Again this was a limited palette of indigo, burnt sienna, and a cool “purpley gray” made with a new pigment I’m trying:  Daniel Smith pyrrol orange which is quite bright and scarlet colored,  but I created gray by combining it with a blue, I *think* (don’t quote me on this) Ultramarine.

3 thoughts on “Oh I’d love to go to the beach….

Leave a Reply

