Red hot poppy

Red Hot! poppy blossom watercolor

Red Hot! poppy blossom watercolor

Here’s the latest painting, done from a photo posted on the Watercolor Workshop yahoo group as their June challenge.   I haven’t been active in that group lately, but that will change now that I’m painting a lot more!    This is done with new gamboge, quin red, cobalt, perylene maroon for the dark reds, and painted on a 1/4 sheet of Arches (11″ x 15″).  I almost gave up when starting the painting because I didn’t think I could do it justice, but I’m calling it finished.  Comments and criticism welcome, especially if there are parts that jump out at you as needing to be addressed.

2 thoughts on “Red hot poppy

Leave a Reply

