Stella d’oro day lily

Day lily watercolorThis is painted from a sketch and photo from my garden. The bloom opened this morning.

 

Now that I’m painting more seriously with watercolor, I find myself on dogwalks figuring out how to paint X tree, or Y flower, and also noticing things I wouldn’t have before.  It was late afternoon and I drove by a house that was about 2 feet from its stone fence, and I noticed that even though the fence was in shadow, it had a yellowish glow.  I realized that it was reflected light from the sun on the stucco house onto the fence.  Just one example of an aspect of the world I wouldn’t have paid attention to before.

2 thoughts on “Stella d’oro day lily

Leave a Reply

