Wine and Roses

20131012-101950.jpgThis wasn’t a successful piece, but i did learn something.   I have to fully understand the shadows, shaping, and cast shadows before just blindly following the directions.

This one gave me a lot of trouble because the directions were to erase as much of the graphite (of the design) as possible while letting you still see the tiny areas to paint in various colors.  I’m thinking my graphite wasn’t too dark to begin with and then erasing, I had no guidance.  There are a ton of little areas to paint in certain colors and ways.  It felt like paint by numbers while wearing a mesh scarf over my eyes.  It was frustrating!

The subject matter isn’t that interesting to me.  I realized that perhaps I don’t need to paint every lesson in the book, but the ones that are more of what I would like to paint.  I’m more “into” pottery and glazes than I am crystal and glass, so this isn’t a still life I would be interested in painting.  I do love flowers and that is the part that is really not successful because I didn’t understand the shape.

I did learn how to create the colors in the wine, how to use neutral tint to darken and deepen the perylene maroon.  The leaves are ok.  but moving on to the next lesson and also some of my own designs to translate what I’ve learned.  I also sat down and made notes on all I’ve learned in a notebook to help solidify it in my brain.

 

4 thoughts on “Wine and Roses

  1. The reflection on the bottom of the glass alone would have me perplexed. Glad you feel like it was worth the time and of course, painting the objects that you love would be far more rewarding. I was thinking that following such directions step by step would not be my choice in the first place but I applaud your giving it your all. I know copying is how many art students learn the masters’ techniques. I looked at her website and she is meticulous to the nth degree. I think Jackson Pollack’s technique is pretty appealing after reading hers.

    Like

  2. That’s the thing, Diane. it is learning to paint *realistic* watercolors and really that’s not the style the floats my boat. I like ones with more soft edges and washes the mingle much more but the skills I’m learning will translate to any style. but I’m not going to do all ten lessons to learn that. There’s one with stripes of the cloth reflected into a silver bowl, and another that’s a china cup…definitely skipping them. but one with ducklings to get the texture of fur, and another of veggies, and one of fall leaves close up — those are definites!

    AM, I’m working on a wall hanging in teals and pinks, and thinking of doing some barrettes in beads/fabric.. .and possibly embellished felt ones…my thought process was to work on watercolor when the house is quiet, and have easy to pick up projects like knitting or beading when I’m on homework helper duty, and machine stitching when the kids are around but don’t need me as much for help. it’s definitely a balancing act, and providing some kind of structure I think will help. ‘course I just started knitting a vest — my second big project — that I want to wear this winter…and that’s probably not going to happen!

    Like

  3. As a totally un-artistic observer – I love it! I’d say you are way too hard on yourself. But I’m glad those that know weigh in too. Your paintings are just improving amazingly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

