Stages of a shell

20130930-184657.jpg

20130930-184709.jpg

20130930-184723.jpg

So what do u think? I like the sketch and quite enjoyed doing it. I feel more skilled at what to do in paint, after my three lessons from that book, but of course it didn’t all happen. The area below the shell in reality was a reflection in a glass table and there was no direct light to create a shadow. I did it on a paper that was not arches nor cold pressed, and it didn’t allow the color to lift well. I needed the shell blue to be lighter. I think i like the ink on it and that’s handy because that is how ir ended up!! Lesson four tomorrow a wine glass with reflections and a beautiful rose blossom.

2 thoughts on “Stages of a shell

    • Thanks Diane. you are so kind. It makes me happy to have the time to devote to concentrating on watercolor and sketching now, and to see that the skills from working the exercises are sticking in some brain cells. I have a long way to go to where I want to be, but the trip is really fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

