Thoughts on learning watercolor

Turns out when I put my mind to it, I’m ok at following directions.  and this book  Step-by-Step Guide to Painting Realistic Watercolors  by Dawn McLeod Heim is really good at setting out the method.  I’m understanding it better when I go back and read the initial directions that say “fully load your brush” is done this way, tapping it once on the side to let out some of the liquid, or “load your brush”  tapping several times.  amazing…. sarcasm here…when I follow these directions that I missed the first time, it makes a difference!  I swear…  and now that I’ve looked for her link, I see there are other lessons on her site as well.  neat!

So my next thoughts are that I want to write down specifically what I learned from each project, and then attempt a painting of my own using those techniques… I was working on project 3 yesterday, raspberries, and there’s a point where you paint a brighter red around some of the berries and I thought, oh no, that won’t work, and sure ’nuff it does.  The trick is to know what color to use when I’m doing it on my own! yikes.  and I can certainly see the value of trying to copy masterpieces to learn from them… a process that has been done throughout time.

So my next thoughts are that I want to write down specifically what I learned from each project, and then attempt a painting of my own using those techniques… I was working on project 3 yesterday, raspberries, and there’s a point where you paint a brighter red around some of the berries and I thought, oh no, that won’t work, and sure ’nuff it does. The trick is to know what color to use when I’m doing it on my own! yikes. and I can certainly see the value of trying to copy masterpieces to learn from them… a process that has been done throughout time.

Here is project 3 in process…the leaf on the right in shadow seems to have gone a bit awry…I was feeling comfortable with the veining and shadowing and tried to do it while talking on the phone. Silly me.

Painting of berries

in progress

Leave a Reply

