Mexican Bird of Paradise in progress

Mexican Bird of Paradise in progress

So here it is in progress, the Mexican Bird of Paradise.  Leaving it for the day to ponder what the background will be.  I find backgrounds hard to do, largely because I underestimate how much of a paint puddle I’ll need for it, and remixing midway is NOT good, I got water blossoms (the kind you don’t want to get) and hard edges, and just plain yuck.  Doesn’t help that I find I hold my breath while painting it…  note to self, find a way to calm down.  Perhaps I should do the backgrounds first?  get them out of the way.  

I’d like a background on this before working more on the detail.  Parts I like on it are the triangle composition, most detail on the blossom on the left, second most detail on the top, and the bottom is more dull.  Don’t want to draw your eye out of the painting.  

Do you think the diagonal lines draw your eye out of the painting?  or do the flowers keep your eye engaged?  

